Can't find what you're looking for?

Edit a saved row or module

You can edit either standard or global saved rows and modules, but there are different consequences:

  • If you edit a global row or module using any of the three methods below, the changes are applied everywhere on your website where that global row or module is used.
  • If you edit a standard (non global) saved row or module, the changes are applied to any row or module you insert into your layout from that point forward, but it doesn’t affect any previously inserted ones.


Open the saved row or module for editing

  1. In the add content panel (PLUS button), expand the Saved section.
    You’ll see a list of saved rows or modules.
  2. Mouse over the saved row or module you want to edit, then click the Wrench icon.
    The saved row or module opens in Page Builder.

  1. Make your edits, click Done > Publish, then the main editing screen opens again. You can continue working on your layout for that page, or exit Page Builder.

From the layout (global only)

If you have an instance of a global row or module in your layout, it appears with an orange overlay. If you open it for editing in your layout, make changes, and save the row or module, the changes are reflected wherever that global module is used and in all future uses of the global saved row or module.


Save the edits

After you’ve made your changes to the saved row or module in the editing tab, click  Done in the upper right corner. The choice of whether to publish or save changes can be a little confusing in the case of saved objects, so here’s a table to help.

ActionEffect for standard row or moduleEffect for global row or module
Publish
Updates the saved row or module and closes the editing tab. No effect on existing layouts, but future instances of that saved row or module show the updated version.
Updates the saved row or module and updates all instances in your layouts.
Save draft
Changes are saved and the editing tab closes. Saved changes appear when you open the saved row or modules for editing again. The previous version appears if you add the saved row or module to your layout. When you want to finalize your update to the saved row or module, open it for editing and publish the changes.
Changes are saved and the editing tab closes. Saved changes appear when you open the saved row or module for editing, but the synched layouts continue to display the previous version. When you want to finalize your update to the saved row or module, open it for editing and publish the changes.
Discard
Editing updates are discarded and the editing tab closes.
Editing updates are discarded and the editing tab closes.
CancelReverts to the tab with your current editing changes
Reverts to the tab with your current editing changes

Related Articles

Can't find what you're looking for?

Tell us your problem, and we will get back to you.